Range Variation from same aerial

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Range Variation from same aerial

I have been using a Kinetic Sbs-1e now for over ten years. I have it connected to an external aerial and get what I would describe as good reception/range from my set up, it does better then I need. Last year I decided to look at using a FlightAware pro stick and put one in with a raspberry pi4. I was a bit out of my depth and knowledge with this but it works ok and I now feed flight radar 24. I used both the roof mounted aerial and the kinetic standard aerial for each set up switching between the two aerials from time to time just to see the differing results. Obviously I had major differences in reception between the external aerial and the Kinetic mobile. I run a screen for each so I can see the differences real time.
    I wanted to balance the two setups and decided to buy a splitter to connect the external aerial to both the pi and the SBS-1. I ordered a Mini-Circuits splitter which arrived yesterday and I set it up. It became obvious quickly that the FlightAware/Pi setup could see aircraft further afield than the SBS-1, Circa 50-75 miles and even some of the aircraft closer to me within say 60 miles don’t show up on the SBS-1.
    My question is why do I get more range on the FlightAware/pi setup to the SBS-1 and can I up the range to the SBS to equal the FlightAware pro stick.
    I hope I’ve described this ok.

Steven

The SBS1 is outdated and the SBS don't have good performance compared with the software decoding available combined with an SDR.
    Especially if you don't have strong interference the FA Pro+ has very good reception.

If you like statistics and fine tuning i'd recommend adding readsb as a decoder and graphs1090 for statistics (should both work fine on a pi24 image https://github.com/wiedehopf/adsb-wi...ADS-B-receiver)

Comment