Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [IMPORTANT]Flightradar24 Website Functionality Improvement Suggestion

Hi everyone,

I am amazed by what the team at Flightradar24 have managed to accomplish in the previous years, and I have seen coverage improve as more and more supporters helped to feed data to the servers. The exceptional element of the Flightradar functions is the website. It is beautifully structured and very intuitive.

As a website developer, I have a habit of trawling through the HTML code used on websites to see how things are accomplished. However, looking through the FR24 website code, I found a small change that could be made to improve the functionality of the website. This change would also lower loading times and enhance the user experience.

Currently, FR24 uses a big image file which contains rotation images of the aircraft as displayed on the website (see below):
    red_large.png

Every time the website loads, a request is sent to the server which has to load this 1200 x 864 pixel file. As you can imagine, this would take a long time and it slows down loading times. Further, since the rotation of the aircraft is pre-defined in the image, the website is restricted in the manner that the plane may not be facing the EXACT heading of the aircraft.

This whole system can be improved by using a sprite of each aircraft facing just ONE direction. Then, some simple Javascript can be used to alter the heading of each aircraft so that it is facing the heading of the actual aircraft, which can be acquired from FR's servers. Another simple change would be to use a simple built-in CSS function called transition to allow smooth rotation of the aircraft. As you can imagine, this would GREATLY improve the user experience as each aircraft would turn in a smooth way, instead of the current awkward rotation that is currently used.