Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• loss of range

Hi

I’m pretty new to supplying data to FR24. Been using an SBS-1er box with external aerial for over ten years with great success and get a range of 200 miles in certain directions. Decided to try my hand with a raspberry pi a couple of months back with the intention of supplying data to FR24 which I use on the go. Wanted to go to the pi so I could leave it on 24/7 and not have a pc running 24/7. Set the pi up no issues at all added FR24, again no issues connected the FlightAware stick to my external aerial and bingo it worked. Again picked aircraft up 200 miles away no issues. Over a two month period supplied my data and on average picked planes within a 200 mile range every day.
    Now to my problem, decided to have a clean up in my man cave on Sunday and had to disconnect the aerial from my pi and stick. After I reconnected it, I was only picking aircraft up with a max range of 50 miles and I don’t pick up aircraft directly over me at height. I’ve checked everything, all the connections switched the pi off and on. I reconnected the sbs-1er box to the external aerial and I can still see planes 200 miles away. I re-formatted my sd card re-installed noobs and re-installed FR24 still only seeing planes within 50 miles and not overhead. I my ranges and aircraft view with the dump1090 web page
    Can anyone suggest how I get my range back please.

Thanks

Steven

Does your antenna (aerial) have a TMA (tower mounted amplifier) RF amplifier at the antenna? Did you perhaps install the DC power injector at the radio end backwards? If you did that, you would be supplying DC power to the FlightAware stick instead of the TMA. Please note that the ProStick (orange case) and the ProStick Plus (blue case) both have RF amplifiers inside, making adding a TMA a marginal proposition for anything more than compensating for coaxial cable losses.