Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Correct abbreviations

Hello,

I just bought the Mac app and see that speed is measured in Kmph. That should be Km/h!
    Also Adelaide and darwin are in the same time zone, that is only correct for 6 month in the year. Darwin has no summer time!

Cheers Marx

Originally posted by Marx View Post
    Hello,

I just bought the Mac app and see that speed is measured in Kmph. That should be Km/h!
    Also Adelaide and darwin are in the same time zone, that is only correct for 6 month in the year. Darwin has no summer time!

Cheers Marx
    Marx,
    Whilst I have no experience with the apps or any connection with those who develop them I did note the following in checking your post;

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kilometres_per_hour

in which it states "Notation history

Several representations of "kilometres per hour" have been used since the term was introduced and many are still in use today. For example, dictionaries list "km/h", "kmph" and "km/hr" as English abbreviations and the SI representations are 'km/h', 'km h-1' and 'km•h-1' and are classified as symbols.
    "

where SI is the 'International System of Units' (apparently).

"hence the use of "km/h" (or "km h-1" or "km•h-1") has now been adopted around the world in many areas related to health and safety[25] and in legal metrology.[26] It is also the preferred system of measure in academia and in education"

I'm not sure if the app falls within any of these catagories which might require the term 'km/h' to be adhered to.

Whilst you seem to be 100% correct in a regulatory sense (also see the link above under 'Regulatory Use') it would seem any of the common terms are acceptable.